Swedish breakfast buns

I found this recipe for a low-carb bun, and I’ve fallen in love with them!!!  They are so tasty and so easy to make it’s ridiculous…

These are my new everyday alternative to bread…  Breakfast, lunch or dinner.  They have a texture similar to crumpets, and they hold together beautifully.   I took one to a bbq recently and grilled it on the bbq – it tasted so good, I’ve pretty much been grilling them every time since (but you don’t have to!).

I’ve used these as a burger bun, toasted with cream cheese, mini pizza base or just with lashings of butter and peanut paste (yum)!

 

wpid-20150306_185842.jpg

Swedish Breakfast Buns

  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 1 tablespoon flax seeds (linseeds)
  • 1 tablespoon sunflower seeds
  • 2 tablespoons psyllium husk
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 200 degrees C.  Mix almond flour, seeds, psyllium husk, salt and baking powder in a bowl.  Add eggs, olive oil and sour cream and mix together.

** Let sit for 10 mins **

Cut dough into 4 pieces (this will be a fairly soft damp dough).  Shape into balls and place in a cake pan (you will need a pan with sides – not a tray).  Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.

Notes

You can spoon the mixture into smaller individual pans (I do – its easier than playing with a sticky dough).  You must still leave the mixture to sit for at least 5 mins.

I usually add garlic salt or a spice mix as it adds a nice bit of flavour.  I’m going to try jalapenos next!

17 thoughts on “Swedish breakfast buns

    • You could try a dairy free yoghurt. I’ve made these with yoghurt and they turned out fine. I would think maybe even thick coconut cream might do the trick, but I haven’t tried that myself.

  1. These are just what I’ve been looking for…A realistic replacement for bread.
    I was a bit concerned at the purple colour when they came out the oven but once cooled and chilled in fridge they are a lovely rustic brown colour. Delicious…thank you!!!

    • Hi Karen, I had the same problem with purple food! I changed brands of psyillium Husk and bought some from the Health Food shops and food is now a normal colour. Yippee!

    • Late reply but here’s an idea. The sour cream is simply to provide acid to react the with the baking powder for aeration. You could use any type of creamy product and maybe add ascorbic acid, lemon juice or cider vinegar.

  2. Hi. Great recipe. Been making almond flour buns recently but want to make more realistic bread rolls and these look right. Just wondering what the need for sour cream is? Can it be left out altogether? Thanks.

    • I have made these with Yoghurt but i find the sour cream tastes better. I wouldn’t recommend leaving it out (or not using an alternative) as this would alter the texture and flavour.

      • Made a batch yesterday with sour cream and they came out good. I was playing around with the recipe and I think what was causing it to be too runny for me was the 2 tbsp of Olive oil. I think 1 tbsp may suffice. I will experiment with that next.

  3. Your recipe amounts are totally correct actually and will make great buns! How do you store yours after they have been cooled? I find mine get quite oily and dense if I wrap them and store them…

  4. Made a double batch as a loaf. Came out great, but use non stick baking paper as a tin liner. Rose to a bit less than double, so recommend using a small bread tin.

Leave a Reply

