Italian herb rissoles

Sorry folks, no photo…  And this my first recipe post!!

This is one I made up on the spot.  I’ve been cooking rissoles since I was a kid (rissoles were a staple meal in my family – a good way to get kids to eat their veges according to my mum and dad!).  Anyways, here it comes – you will have to use your imagination.

– Packet of beef mince (about 500g or thereabouts)

– fresh chopped rosemary

– a couple of shallots, thinly sliced

– a squirt of mild chilli from the tube

– a generous squirt of italian herbs (tube)

– a teaspoon of sundried tomato pesto

– a bit of grated cheese (I used Havarti)

– 1 egg

– salt & pepper to taste

– enough breadcrumbs to bring it all together

Just mix it all together (use your hands and it will come together nicely).  Roll into balls and flatten out.  Put aside for a good 10mins before cooking.  If I have time, I stick them in the fridge for 20mins before cooking – they are less likely to fall apart during cooking.

I handed them to hubby to cook on the weber!

We served these with some crispy bacon, roasted pumpkin, crispy potatoes and steamed carrots and broccoli.

They were very tasty – only I think next time I would add a little minced veg (potato, onion) to lighten them up.

As there was only 2 of us, I only made enough for us.  They freeze well, so you could cook them all.  I made the leftover mince mixture into little meatballs and froze them (uncooked).  These are tasty enough to serve as finger food on their own.

Leave a Reply

